Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Some people argue that art is an important subject at school, while for others it is a waste of time. This essay will discuss both of these views, in support of the former one.

On the one hand, those who oppose the teaching of art subjects at school support the idea that the subject is pointless and the allocated time could be used for more beneficial subjects like maths and science. This view comes from an idea that to be successful and make a good living, the only way is to become either a doctor or an engineer. This professions mainly focus on technical subjects and ignore the artistic ones. Because of this, some parents tend to focus on subjects which are required for exams to become a doctor in the future.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that art is an important part of self-development for children. Considering the fact that, not everyone has an access to materials required for drawing, schools may provide this option for the children and support them. This is an excellent opportunity for children who are gifted with this talent but do not have the necessary finances. To continue with, for art subjects, schools usually allocate only one lesson per week, therefore the argument of critics that it is a waste of time, becomes unnecessary. Moreover, during the classes some students may find out that they are successful in drawing and this can change their life path if they decide to continue in this area.

In conclusion, while opponents have their arguments related to the cancellation of art subjects, I support the idea that art subjects must be mandatory for both personal and career development of the students.