Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling peole, who would never have the chance to meet, to communicate. What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages to this?

Many people believe that online communication breaks down geographical barriers and brings people closer. This essay will discuss merits and drawbacks of online communication.

On the one hand, international communication online provides the opportunity for people to embrace a celebrate the cultural difference. People can establish connections with foreigners in various countries without physical presence. For example, many social media platforms such as Zalo, Facebook groups, Instagram are providing functions where people can easily to start conversations with others in different countries. As the result, not only do people learn knowledge, but they also create meaningful relationships. Secondly, online communication provides the flexibility in learning. For instance, students can study with professors in different countries in the world through Zoom. The allows them to expand their knowledge.

On the other hand, online conversation can have a negative effect on the connection in person. Being comfortable engaging online, people start to lose necessary skills to interact with people in society. The reason explains for this behaviour is that in-person connection requires lot of efforts, meanwhile online connection online requires a tablet with internet. Consequently, relationship between people will become deteriorating. In addition, online communication can expose to a high risk of cyber security. Hackers can exploit other’s personal information throughout the conversations to break in their emails, bank account for a bad purpose. Therefore, people are encouraged not to reveal private information to strangers on the internet.

In conclusion, meanwhile, online communication allows people to acquire cultural difference and flexibility in studying, it can also diminish the true connection between people and expose high risk to cyber attack