Some people think that children should be taught at school to recycle materials and avoid waste. Other people believe that children should be taught this at home. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

In contemporary discourse, a hotly debated discussion has arisen, regarding the primary target who must bear the responsibility of teaching children over the subject of environmental actions, namely waste reduction and the recycling of used materials. While some believe the onus should be on schools, others point to the families of students. Personally, I suppose a hybrid approach is the most suitable, and this essay will delve into the reasons.

Granted, proponents of the first assertion argue based on the fact that it is a social norm that educational institutions impart both academic and vocational knowledge, particularly environmental-friendly behaviours. School has always been seen as the ultimate life-teachers, where your future actions, manners, and more are intricately polished, as it has principled and knowledgeable educators, whom parents entrust their children to, when it comes to shaping youngsters into responsible adults to society. The process of which includes educating them about environmental actions. For instance, giving detailed lessons about the bad habits of littering, or introducing DIY shops that prioritize the art of recycling will help students raise their awareness, prompting them to take measures.

Moving onwards, the supporters of homeschooling the subject point to the fact that parents themselves should take charge of carrying the burden. They can, for example, utilize household chores, such as mandating their child to sort the trash into the correct type for recycling, changing the house rules by negating the wasting materials, or warrant the creativity of recycling, which potentially supplies household needs. All of which certainly make a difference in leaving his or her everlasting impression on environment protection.

To summarize, while both sides have merit to win the debate, I believe combining foundational knowledge in schools and the real-life application at home will reinforce their habits, maximising the chance of them becoming environmentally responsible adults.