Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age and should spend most of their time on school studies. Others believe that young children should spend most of their time playing. Compare these two views and give your own opinion.

Young children could directly learn formal education and become future scholars, or they just could have fun and learn games. This essay argues that a majority of children should spend a great time while learning.

On the one hand, formal education unlocks the full potential of the child because kids are like sponges. For example, they will absorb their native language in a few month and even a second language if their parents are bilingual. In addition, children need to be intellectually stimulated, this is why they ask so many questions, to give him knowledge will foster a sain curiosity. Moreover, this method is beneficial to have prodigy in specialised domain. If chess prodigies are masters this is because they have learnt to move pieces since they were 3 years old.

On the other hand, to impose a view of schooling on the child can destroy their creativity. Indeed, best discoveries are made by people able to dream of science. Albert Einstein predicted relativity by imagining himself sitting astride a beam of light and he illustrates straightaway with his famous quote : “imagination is more important than knowledge”. Furthermore, this can be explain because we can memorise better if you have fun while learning : choose a job you love and you will never had to work a day in your life. Thus, young chlidren should learn in a funny way as much as adults.

Overall, we are tempted to impose adults courses on children but it’s crucial to form educators to let each child to express their creativity.