Some people think that children should learn a foreign language at primary school. Others believe it is better to wait until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Before I start explaining about my opinion, we need to remember that it is best for children to study a foreign language as they grow up, or in other words when they are developing. The golden age to learn a language is four years old. Which means, children in the age range of four until five years old will learn languages faster and much more efficient around this time. Now, I’m going to explain both views regarding this topic.

Children should study as many languages as they can from the time they start school, as scientific results have proven that it is easier for kids to be fluent in a language they have already learnt as they grow up and use it daily. This is supported by the fact that during these years, children are experiencing many new things and their brain is developing way more compared to a teen who only started learning a new language on secondary school.

On the other hand, waiting until the child reaches middle school to learn a new language might sound more common and popular, but it is going to be way harder since their brain is not learning as many new things as they are when they are a child. When one becomes a teenager, our brain has already developed near its fullest compared to when we’re still learning about every single thing when we are a child.

Overall, in my opinion, it is better for a child to learn a foreign language around the time they start school, because waiting until secondary school might make the process harder, but not impossible.