Some people think that children should learn a foreign language at primary school. Others believe it is better to wait until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, it is advantageous to have the possibility to speak a foreign language. It has become common that children are introduced to new languages during the early period of their education. Some people consider such a phenomenon as beneficial for a child’s development, while others suggest that young students should start learning new languages later.

To begin with, during the early phase of speech development, it is easier for children to acquire new vocabulary and also a language which is not their mother tongue. Therefore, it is crucial in a child’s education to get accustomed to another language during primary school. Moreover, being bilingual will benefit their life in the future. For example, if they want to apply to a more prestigious secondary school, the knowledge of a foreign language will help them to pass the entrance exam, which involves the ability to be bilingual.

On the other hand, some people are almost certain that introducing children to a foreign language in primary school might have a negative impact on their mental health, as it might be overwhelming. What is more, they suggest that young people should begin in secondary school. I totally disagree with such a statement since a significant number of teachers have introduced modern methods of learning which are appealing to young people. Thus, while studying a foreign language during primary school, not only does the child become bilingual, but they can also learn in a pleasant atmosphere.

To summarise, in my estimation, children should be introduced to a foreign language in primary school as it is beneficial for their development and also, being bilingual will be useful in their future.