Some people think that children should learn a foreign language at primary school. Others believe it is better to wait until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Learning a foreign language is very important for students today, as it can help them in education, during travel, and in future job opportunities. There are people who think that foreign language classes should begin in primary school, and others who feel they are better delayed until secondary school. I believe that starting to learn another language from an early age proves to be more beneficial.

Children should start learning foreign languages in primary school because there are several advantages to doing so. First of all, young children have no difficulty learning new words and how to pronounce them correctly. They also tend not to be scared of making mistakes and take part enthusiastically in activities that involve speaking. Starting young provides children with more time to practice a language and feel at ease when using it.

Others believe that foreign languages should be learnt at secondary school. The argument is that teenagers have more knowledge and learn grammar rules and sentence structures more quickly. Teenagers are more serious about learning as they know the value of languages for further education and their careers. Also, primary school children have many subjects to study, and adding another language to the list might be stressful for them.

However, I think that the benefits of learning languages in primary school outweigh the ones gained from starting in secondary school. Language learning at a young age is quicker and more effortless than adult language learning. This is mostly due to the fact that kids have fun when being taught languages. For these reasons, I believe that foreign languages should be taught in primary school.