Some people think that children should learn a foreign language at primary school. Others believe it is better to wait until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s rapidly evolving world, the topic of education has already gained considerable attention due to its significant impact on society. While some are still inclined to say that learning a foreign language in primary school is beneficial, I strongly argue that learning a new language in secondary school can offer long-term benefits.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language from formative years is highly regarded among parents. If young people, especially at the age of 8 to 10, commute to school in order to learn a foreign language, they are more likely to develop strong analytical and critical-thinking skills, thereby absorbing information quickly and using it in real-life situations. Additionally, youngsters can have a high chance to learn how to pronounce and imitate native speakers, ultimately aiding academic and personal growth. A case in point is my country, Uzbekistan, where parents encourage their children to acquire strong intellectual knowledge of learning foreign languages in order to pursue well-paid careers in foreign countries.

On the other hand, although early language learning has several advantages, learning a language in secondary school brings spectacular results. Once secondary school students start learning foreign languages, they tend to develop strong interpersonal skills and maintain punctuality, potentially learning how to use the language in real-life situations. Moreover, learning a language at this stage of life can help them turn acquired knowledge into long-term memory and prevent language barriers in the future. Not only do they avoid hardships, but they can also cultivate strong language proficiency and make big inroads toward accomplishing their objectives. South Korea, for instance, serves as a striking example. In this country, students are strongly encouraged to learn several languages after graduating from primary school, as it assists them in developing strong memory function, avoiding pronunciation barriers and gaining ground in their careers.

In conclusion, I once again restate my view that although early language learning can be advantageous, learning a language in secondary institutions contributes significantly to achieving broader intellectual knowledge and nurturing students’ curiosity about education.