Some people think that cities should be designed to be beautiful rather than functional. Do you agree?

It is considered by some people that the beauty of the city is more important because these cities can attract a lot of tourists, while others believe that functionality plays a much more important role due to the safety of its citizens. I side with the latter due to safety in the city which provides the decrease of health risks and is a basic need and a primary good of life.

It is believed by some that the city should be nice. The good external view of the city can help to attract tourists who will go there to enjoy attractions, make photos in lovely places and of course spend their money for souvenirs, food and drinks. As a result it also causes creation of working places because city will start develop its utilities for tourists’ comfort such as hotels, restaurants and activities. On the whole it helps city to earn more money as a good tourist destination.

It is considered by others that functionality is far more profound because the safety for citizens depends on it. The quality project of cities’ infrastructure influences on how comfortable people live there. It includes a lot of paths for pedesriants, quality roads and buildings, existence of gree zones. Moreover, this factor includes safety for everyone especially for children and avoid car accidents with their participation. Furthermore, the functionality of the city makes it a good place for jogging and using bicycle and generally supports healthier way of living.

Some people think that the city should be beautiful and attract tourists there, however others consider that functionality is more important due to the influence on citizens’ health and wellbeing. I support those who believe that well functioning cities play a crucial role in people’s life and these cities can save someone’s life and avoid different accidents.