Some people think that competition is good at work or school. Others think that cooperation is important rather than competetion. Dicuss both views along with your opinion.

Nowadays, there is an endless debate about whether schools and the workplace should have a cooperative or competitive environment. While many people believe that competition is necessary, cooperation can secure a better life for people.

On the one hand, some people prefer competition for one major reason. First, competing with other people can help improve an individual’s skills. To clarify, people with a competitive mindset always want to defeat others, which motivates them to try harder to study more to become well-rounded. As a result, competitive individuals’ abilities are often better than average, which makes them superior. For example, according to a study conducted by Beijing University, students in competitive environments have higher grades, about 20-30% higher compared to others.

Notwithstanding the mentioned argument, I still claim that cooperation can overshadow competition. To begin with, cooperation can greatly enhance the abilities of both the individual and the group they are in. To elaborate, members in a group can learn from other members to be better, while the pros of all members greatly strengthen the capability of the team. Furthermore, cooperation can bond the relationship between individuals. For Instance, many cooperative classes and workplaces have their members have good relationships with each other. Compared to the cooperative ones, members in these groups can do everything, even immoral actions to beat others, creating a hostile atmosphere.

To sum up, while there is no doubt about the benefit of competitiveness, cooperation is still better. By balancing them, our life and work can become excellent.