Some people think that consumerism can boost the economy and create business and jobs. Others consider that society becomes a 'throw-away society' producing unnecessary waste. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, consumerism is thought to positively affect society by expanding countries’ budgets and contributing to the development of businesses. At the same time many people believe that some produced goods are unnecessary and may even be detrimental to the environment. I firmly believe that the production of items should exist due to several reasons; however, its overuse must be controlled.

On the one hand, consumerism has a great number of benefits. The most apparent one is an increase in demand and supply, which leads to the greater availability of a range of various goods. By way of example, in the 21st century, consumers have an opportunity to choose new garments for their wardrobe by comparing the prices, qualities, and general appearance of clothes. Everybody can select and purchase the best items for them. Moreover, the global economy boosts due to consumption culture. Individuals buy different goods, whilst producers not only pay taxes to the government, but also employ citizens in their factories and set up other businesses.

On the other hand, there are still several drawbacks to this development. No one can deny that the main concern is that some people tend to buy plenty of unnecessary things for themselves, which they do not really use. In fact, shopaholics just enjoy purchasing something new and then throwing it away. In this way, many species of vegetation and animals become extinct, and the ecosystem ends up being damaged.

To conclude, although I agree that consumerism can benefit both citizens and the government, I also think that a ‘throw-away society’ may have several negative consequences for the environment.