Some people think that employers should focus on the personal qualities of potential job seekers instead of their academic qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Some people point out that employers ought to put emphasis on the personal attributes of prospective job candidates rather than their academic credentials and experience. I strongly disagree with this view and believe that academic qualifications and experience suggest that the candidates have job-specific skills and knowledge.

Academic qualifications refer to the evidence that a candidate has knowledge and competence in a particular field of study. This means that the job seeker has attained a foundational comprehension of the subject matter, and has acquired necessary skills through assignments, coursework and exams. This suggests that the individual possesses the knowledge and skills to perform well in the role. A software development firm seeking to appoint a programmer, for instance, may put more focus on a job applicant with a computer science degree. The degree demonstrates the fact that the candidate has acquired a certain level of programming languages, algorithms and competencies required for the job.

Likewise, individuals gain experience through internships, and part-time or full-time jobs, allowing them to apply their academic knowledge in real-world settings. People, in fact, develop practical competencies, problem-solving skills and a comprehension of workplace dynamics through experience. Therefore, an experienced candidate has more practical ability, knowledge and skills than his counterparts. For example, in the field of software development, a company recruiting developers may prioritize job applicants who possess relevant coding experience. The experience indicates their practical knowledge of how to carry out coding projects.

In conclusion, I believe that academic credentials and practical experience are important when it comes to hiring a candidate for a job because academic qualifications prove that the candidates have a certain level of knowledge and skills pertinent to the job, while experience showcases their ability to apply theoretical knowledge in real-world settings.