Some people think that employers should focus on the personal qualities of potential job seekers instead of their academic qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Nowadays, the competition among job seekers has become more intense. Some believe that the importance of one’s quality exceeds one’s professional ability and experience. However, from my perspective, individuals’ educational background and experience is the key factor to determine whether they can successfully deal with their professions. This essay will stand on my viewpoint by illustrating specific reasons.

The educational qualification of employees is a strong evidence to show staff have knowledgeable enough in the work field. Although a seeker with good qualities, such as friendly and responsible, work needs professional knowledge to be basics. Take an IT staff as an example, only when they possess certain professional abilities such as programming can they be competent for this job. Consequently, when managers are recruiting talents, they need to pay attention to their professional capabilities first.

The professional experience of employees is able to support them to successfully complete their work and come from any challenge. Sufficient experience enables employees to handle work matters skillfully and remain calm in the face of difficulties. Accordingly, a middle-level manager of PWC once said in an television documentary that he preferred to recruit staff from various well-known enterprises rather than students from universities, because those who had worked before could deal flexibly with the different situations. What impressed him the most was that he and his team members went to discuss the project with the client. Among them, the college student team member could only explain basic theories to the client, and couldn’t like another team member who had worked for many years, transform professional information into a language that the client could understand and be interested in when presenting it to the client. Finally, this employee with working experiences successfully won the project which could bring a profit of 10 million for PWC. Therefore, academic experiences are able to help employees to meet challenges efficiently.

In conclusion, even if the human resources department wants to recruit s trustworthy person, his professional ability must come first. In the future, a high quality of academic abilities will become more crucial.