Some people think that employers should not be concerned about how employees dress at work, but the quality of work only. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has recently been proposed that employers should not mind about how their workers wear, but about how efficient they work. This essay will shed light on the reasons why I partly agree with this sentiment.

On the one hand, the principal goal of a company or an organisation is to produce a quality work with efficiency, in an aim of generating profit, developing itself and not to worry about how their employees dress at the workplace. The fact that enterprises are solely made to make money means that no matter what the workers wear, if they perform well and produce quality work, the business benefits from them. Therefore, when employers check on their employees, they should merely look at their productivity. For example, wearing comfortable clothes, workers around the world had been fired by their employers for the reasons of informal wear; however, these employees worked effectively with their relaxing clothes. Consequently, a lot of companies lost their productive workers. How the employers dress should hereby not be a problem for companies and they should tolerate the different ways their workers dress.

On the other hand, dress codes should be paid attention in some careers. Clothes make up for the first impression when going out ; therefore, wearing certain uniforms can build a feeling of trustworthiness in employer’s hearts. Furthermore, an employee who dresses neatly is considered a reliable person. For example, many businesses place a lot of emphasis on employees who interact with customers : sellers dressing politely can build more trust in customers. Thereby, uniforms also provide information about workers. In some workplaces such as hospitals or police officers, a uniform can show who people are talking to.

In conclusion, although work productivity cannot be judged on what employees are wearing and dress codes should not be forced, dressing style could also be emphasised at work to create a more trustworthy environment. I believe that employers should care about the way their employees work depending on their position to maintain the quality at work.