Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s professional world, there is an ongoing debate regarding whether employers should prioritize the quality of their work over their employee’s appropriate attire. From my perspective, maintaining an appropriate dress code should be also concentrated though the working quality is essential.

Firstly, for businesses that rarely interact with clients and customers, the formal dress code is insignificant to some extent. In fact, allowing employees to dress casually can improve their working efficiency. For instance, in an IT company, where engineers may often work overtime, agreeing to dress in comfortable casual clothes can enhance their overall physical and mental health.

However, an appropriate dress code is essential for those companies that regularly interact with clients and customers as it reflects professionalism and company culture. If employees wear appropriate suits when they contact their clients and customers, they will leave a positive and professional impression which potentially increases the opportunities for business success. For example, a law firm’s management should force employees to dress appropriately to build and maintain trust in clients.

Furthermore, employees should require employees to dress in some particular styles in case of the issue of safety and hygiene. Many workplaces such as power supply factories and restaurants have strict rules to protect their workers and customers. Indeed, electrician workers working at height must wear safety strings and insulted clothes to ensure the protection of their lives. For another example, employees working at the cafeteria are required to wear masks and gloves to ensure the food produced by them will not be polluted.

In conclusion, although casually dressing can bring advantages for some companies, appropriate attire is still should be required at most workplaces.