Some people think that globalization negatively affects local cultures, leading to cultural homogenization. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument about whether the appearance of globalization results in the homogenization of culture. Although globalization has some negative impacts on native culture in some extents, I am convinced that a balanced approach should be adopted to both maintain cultural values and promote cultural interchange.

Admittedly, there might be some reasons why globalization poses a threat to indigenous culture. In the past, each country had different traditions and customs that had a deep symbolic meaning in the lives of local people. These culture values were practiced in that specific area and passed down on future generations. However, the advent of globalization, people can easily expose to other cultures all over the world, especially Western culture. For example, well-known brands such as Coca-Cola or McDonald’s have entered the Vietnamese market and become more popular than indigenous cultural expressions. As a consequence, this can make erode the identity of culture and gradually reduce traditional practices, thereby leading a homogenization of cultural.

However, from my perspective, this reasoning overlooks the positive aspects of globalization. It allows individuals to experience other cultures in the worldwide and acquiring a deep understanding about these traditions and customs, broadening the horizons. Furthermore, globalization enables countries to access and learn from many cultures. This exposure can inspire for creativity and innovation, as individuals combine elements from various cultures to create a unique national identity. Therefore, a balanced approach should be implemented to both preserve core values and maintain cultural interchange. To be more specific, authorities should conduct educational compaigns to raise public’s awarness of preserving core values of own culture, while simultaneously promoting cultural exchange.

In conclusion, while globalization poses a tangible threat to the homogenization of culture through the risk of losing their culture identity, I strongly advocate for a balanced approach, conserving the authenticity of own culture and developing cultural exchange.