Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that the need for good health is a fundamental part of human need, while it remains controversial about whether to conduct medical service by individual business or not. Personally, I acknowledge that there could be some shortcomings; however, I believe that it has more positive implications.

There are several reasons why people claim that private medical services are associated with certain drawbacks. Firstly, the cost of running a medical institution is extremely exorbitant which consists of doctors’ salary, medical items and other medicine. Without the help of government funding, financial resources in private medical establishments mostly rely on their patients, potentially escalating the price for medical services. As a result, individuals with lower income would have less opportunities to access the high quality treatments and products from such private health care. Secondly, there are some cases where profit-making companies have excessive procedures in order to force their patients to pay them more money than the actual need. Such actions could lead to exacerbating patients’ financial burdens, resulting in deterioration of their overall health as the prolonged treatments might cause large amount of stress.

On the other hand, I more agree with those who argue that the benefits of private health care are more remarkable. Firstly, the proximity of private clinics to the local patients is a big advantage to the communal hospital. It allows people to come to get medical services in a swift and effective way and also eliminates the waiting process in a long queue in hospitals which largely causes fatigue and anxiety to the patients. In addition, private doctors are more likely to offer tailor-made services, for example, people’s overall health data would be stored properly, allowing doctors to supervise them thoroughly to achieve best results for their treatments. Consequently, the high-quality healthcare offered in those private institutions is becoming a favorable choice among people, which substantially improves their health and quality of life.

In conclusion, while there remains some doubt about private healthcare, I personally believe that it is a worthwhile and considerable choice.