Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays more people are working beyond the official retirement age. While most people follow this regulation and commented quitting the work field at this age is reasonable, some have advocated that workers in specific industries should retire and entitle pension at an earlier timing, considered their personal health conditions. This essay will first discuss both opinions before giving my own thoughts.

People who agreed the retirement age to be set at 65 years old has a general belief that there are experienced, and their productivity can be kept at the same level in the company. Their salary could support their living and medical care; and their hard work and contributions could continue to be seen.

On the other hand, advocates argued that the age should be adjusted according to their occupations. Home movers and drivers, for instance, requires adequate physical energy to complete each job task. They may not be able to lift the goods, nor as responsive as their younger colleagues do after 60s. Having them to leave the field at a compulsory age may do harm to them and affecting others.

From my perspective, I agreed that the lifespan in today’s world has been extended, where people beyond 65 years old are considered as middle-aged. Setting this retirement bottom line can align with the universal standard. However, government should also be flexible to specific types of workers. For example, those in the construction fields or staffs who work in the laboratories are deserving of having a earlier retirement age.