Some people think that hobbies are a waste of time, while others think that they are an essential part of life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people have very divided opinions about having a hobby, some say that it is essential for all to have, however others believe it is a pointless activity. This essay will discuss both positive and negative sides of having a hobby with my point of view that hobbies make our lives more exciting.

On the one hand, hobbies have a huge impact on people’s lives, making their lives more active and allowing them to learn about new things. For example, people who are into sports or travelling often has a lot more energy and lively. In addition, there are a large number of therapeutic hobbies that help you unwind and get distracted from hustle and bustle of the city life. For instance, individuals who are keen on gardening or knitting frequently have a lot more settled and chill life.

On the other hand, those remaining argue that hobbies a time-waster activity, considering that it takes a vast amount of time, which they could spend on doing something more productive and useful. In today’s fast-changing world, the development of hard skills is in the high demand in the job market, providing more opportunities for career advancement and collecting a steady paycheck. For all those reasons, people prefer to spend their leisure time on self-impovement, by attending work-related courses.

To conclude, although hobbies require a lot of free time, they have a lot more benefits, making our lifestyle more balanced and vibrant. Having a hobby can help you overcome plenty of problems, by distracting you from them, even for a short period of time.