Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A section of people are inline with the opinion that countries have to host international sports event for its own good whereas another section believes that its not a good idea. This essay encompases the pros and cons of hosting an international sports event along with my take on this subject.

A country could greatly benefit from hosting an international sports event such as olympics as it enables an all round development. The first thing woud be the economic aspect of it as it will greatly help improving countries economy. Secondly, it provides a lot of job opportunities for a lot people. Apart from this, the audience who are the residents of the country will have a good time witnessing such an event in their homeland. It gives exposure on how things actually happen which can’t be noticed when watched through television. This also improves the country’s stature.

As good as all these sound, there are negative impacts as well. Hosting an international sports event will result in the financial drain on the city that its hosted. In the case of a developing country, the infrastructure requirements might not be met, resulting in a subpar infra. This would also lead to complex management issues which might arise due to inadequate parking, crowd management and a lot more. The safety of the people would also be at risk in the case of poor crowd management and infra arrangements.

In conclusion, a country could benefit frrom hosting an international sports event and in my opinion, if appropriate actions are taken to address the major issues, that in itself will amplify the positive aspects of having an international sports event in a country.