Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I believe that hosting and holding an international sports event, such as the olympics, can be actually harmful to the country hosting it rather than being benefitial.

Firstly, people think that by hosting an international sports event a country or a city can gain profits and grow economically by the tourism that comes with the sports events. However this asumption is completely wrong as countries actually lose money in the long term because the sports event only boost tourism for a very short period of time.

Secondly, the cost of hosting such events can be absolutely massive as the country and the city that is hosting said event needs to build new facilities and stadiums just to host it. Most of the time these projects that come with the sports event goes way over the budget in a lot of cases, example being many host countries of the Olympics through out history.

Thirdly, the building, the projects, the stadiums and the facilities that were built for an international sports events is often times never used again after the event concludes and just rots away and becomes a waste of tax payers money. This in total becomes a net loss for the host country because remember-hosting such an event brings barely any revenue to the country through tourism which ultimately vanishes jut after few years or even after the event ends.

Overall a country or a city that hosts such events will lose a lot of money and often time will never recover those lost expenses ever again and in the end wll just have few abandoned buildings that will never generate anything for the city or the country.