Some people think that human needs for farmlands, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree?

It has become a common debate across the globe whethe the use of land should be prioritized for human being’s needs or environmental activities. While many argues that the use of land for public necessity such as farmland, housing, and industry should be prioritized, there are others who advocate for the environmental issue specifically to save extinct species of animals. I understand the urgency of both views, however, I believe that protecting endangered species and their habitats is more critical for maintaining biodiversity and the long-term sustainability of Earth.

To begin with, it is inevitable that the use of land is integral for humans. It is unavoidable that the activities such as farming, build office buildings, and even industrial activities need the existence of land. In Indonesia, for example, the government needs a large scale of land to build their new capital city in Borneo island due to Jakarta that is already run out of land and is on the edge of being submerged. Having said that, human needs for land can actually be reduced if every individuals educated enough about the importance of doing sustainable development practice such as eco-friendly agriculture, renewable energy, and smart urban planning. These activities can meet human needs without destroying natural habitats that can harm any kind of animals. Therefore, using land for the sake of human needs has more drawbacks compared to the use of land for environmental needs .

Therefore, the use of land should be more focused on saving endangered animals. Firstly, endangered species play vital roles in ecosystems, and their loss can have more negative effects on the environment. For instance, certain species help regulate pest populations. If these species disappear, it can disrupt the natural balance and lead to negative consequences for agriculture and human health. Furthermore, protect the endangered fauna is significant to the biodiversity of certain countries. In Indonesia, the diversity of fauna species is divided into three regions: the western, central, and eastern regions. Losing certain endemic species can change the entire perspective on Indonesia’s biodiversity. Consequently, preserving natural habitats not only protects animals but also indirectly supports the country where humans are lived.

In conclusion, it is understandable that the needs for farmland, housing, and industry are demanding. However, protecting the extinct animal species is also equally important, particularly for maintaining the balance of ecosystems that humans depend on. Therefore, individuals should consider using more eco-friendly products and preserving land to allow animals to thrive in their natural habitats.