Some people think that if a police force carries guns, it would cause a high level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crimes are internationally considered serious issues impeding social stability and social development. As a solution to tackle criminals, law enforcement departments are proposed to carry guns to deter crimes. However, such a radical approach may backfire, causing an unintentional increase in the crime rate.

Admittedly, guns, as weapons, have demonstrated a powerful ability in wars and conflicts, bringing great intimidation to criminals. Nonetheless, the negative externalities of carrying guns are non-negligible; they will bring chaos into society. Empowered by guns, kills made by law enforcement departments will be more casual and easier. Despite justifiable kills, accidental kills are highly possible during conflicts, bringing hatred to a vast demographic. As a consequence, crimes driven by a will for revenge will be ubiquitous, increasing the crime rate.

In addition, if presumably all police officers possess a gun, it directly implies that guns in society will be more prevalent through losses by police and greater manufacture of guns. As a result, severe peril will be experienced by ordinary citizens by undergoing an exacerbated conflict level with the involvement of guns. To be specific, due to the undeniable force of bullets, the resolution to disputes may end up with pressing the trigger instead of reconciliation. To a great extent, these upgraded conflicts lead to a higher level of crime.

In conclusion, police armed with firearms will not be an optimum choice to lower the crime rate. Known for their instability and hazardous nature, guns will definitely put society into fluctuation and increase the crime rate. Therefore, new initiatives should be brought about to lower the crime rate.