Some people think that if a police force carries guns, it would cause a high level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crimes are internationally considered as serious issues impeding social stability and social develpoment. As a solution to tackle criminals, law enforcement department are porposed to carry guns to deter crimes. However, such radical approach may backfire causing an unintensional increase in level of crime rate.

Admittedly, guns as weapons, has demonstrated powerful ability in wars and conflicts, bringing great intimidation to criminals. Nonetheless, the negative externalities of carring guns are non-negligible, they will bring chaos into the society. Empowered by guns, kills made by law enforcement department will be more casual and easier. Despite justifiable kills, accidental kills are highly possible when conflict, bringing hatred to a vast demographic. As a consequence, crimes driven by will of revenge will be ubiquitous, incresing crime rate.

In addition, if presumably all police possess a gun, it directly implys that the guns in society will be more prevalent through losses by police and a greater manufacture of guns. As a result, severe peril will be experienced by ordinary citizens by undergoing an exacerbated conflict level with the involvement of guns. To be specific, due to the undeniable force of bullets, the resolution to dispute may end up with pressing the trigger instead of reconciliation. To a great extend, these upgraded conflict lead to a higer level of crime.

In conclusion, police armed with firearms will not be an optimum choise to lower crime rate. Known for its instability and hazzardous, guns will definitely put society into fluctuation, and increase crime rate. Therefore, new initiatives should be bring about to lower crime rate.