Some people think that in the future, robots and computers will completely replace human workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Innovations such as AI have been influential to the extent that we are now witnessing the replacement of people in many jobs. There is a view that in the future, computers and robots will totally replace human employees. Although robots can replace millions of people in different sectors, I still believe many humans will be employed because of their soft skills, meaning I disagree with the opinion above.

Computers and robots can perform better than human workers in certain aspects such as efficiency and productivity. There is no need to feed robots and pay them, making them more attractive from an employer’s perspective. This makes the most sense in jobs where physical power is the main element of work. Factories can be a great example of that. In fact, millions of people are already being replaced with robots that can do the job in a more automated way, thus offering impressive speed, too.

Nevertheless, humans still offer skills that are not replicated by technology. Those are ‘soft skills’ – abilities learned thanks to human character and the power of the human brain. Emotional intelligence is perhaps the best example of what humans can do and computers cannot. Teachers in schools are often appreciated because they show empathy and resolve conflicts, tasks that cannot be performed by a robot, for instance. Similarly, skills such as teamwork and creative thinking are surely used better by humans than computers, which are programmed to do a limited number of tasks.

In conclusion, some jobs will see humans replaced, but many other positions where soft skills are crucial will witness the continuation of human labour.