Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

It is widely argued in the modern society whether people depend more or less on others. I personally believe that we are living more independently than ever.

There are two main reasons why people think that we have a tendency to rely on each other. Firstly, as life is complex and difficult, it is hard for individuals to live independently. For instance, in Iran, many young couples choose to stay with their parents after marriage because they cannot afford to buy a house as well as they can save money for a house rent to support their offspring. Secondly, since people seem to be busier at work they need a lot of support from others. For instance, my brother and sister in law always have to work overtime; as a result, they cannot pick up my nieces on time at 5 pm. Thus, my father helps them to bring their kids home every day.

However, it seems to me that people nowadays have become more independent. Many people choose to settle down far away from home. Therefore, they need to deal with all problems on their own. In America, normally after turning 18, young people leave their beloved homes and start an independent life. As a result, they are free to pursue their interests and travel around the world. Furthermore, thanks to technological development, people can now work alone from any place on Earth. With a laptop connected to the Internet, we can easily hold a conference online and there would be no compelling need for a secretary to set up a meeting room or prepare any projectors or stationary items. In conclusion, while many people think that we are relying more on others, I personally believe that we are living more independently as a result of technological advances and the young generation’s new lifestyle.