Some people think that increasing the price of fuel is the best way to solve environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Worldwide ecological challenges have been widely concerned for ages; therefore, some consider that raising the price of fuel is the most effective measure. From my own perspective, I partly agree with this viewpoint and believe that other solutions should also be employed to radically alleviate environmental issues.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that imposing higher fuel costs may trigger various merits. Firstly, applying such an approach can decrease the use of vehicles which consume fuel. To be more specific, residents and companies will be likely to restrict the consumption of fossil fuel vehicles and unnecessary travel due to the growth of fuel taxation and prices. Hence, it is reasonable to claim that this policy could contribute to mitigating air pollution and global warming. Secondly, making fuel more expensive can encourage humans to switch to eco-friendly transportation instead of using gasoline vehicles. For instance, people will have a tendency to use public transport, electricity cars and bikes when travelling to offices or their expected destinations.

On the other hand, although escalating the charge of fuel has its own benefits, it is insufficient and it may exert an adverse implication on socio-economic developments. Such a policy tends to create heavier burdens on the finance as well as development of many nations, where fuel plays an integral role in daily transportation and agricultural production. Besides, environmental degradation stems not only from fuel consumption but also from industrial waste, deforestation, and overexploitation of natural resources. Hence, some actions such as introducing green technologies, levying strict regulations, and investing in renewable energy are some sustainable solutions to this issue.

In conclusion, although increasing fuel costs may be beneficial in some respects, I firmly believe that it is not the only choice. Some aforementioned measures may holistically curb environmental issues if they are implemented in conjunction with fuel rises.