Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some suggest that we adapt to climate change rather than try to prevent it. I take issue with this assertion for two main reasons, which will be explained below.

To begin with, adapting to climate change is a short-term solution. This is because the Earth’s climate is largely unpredictable and still poorly understood despite the advances in climate prediction technologies. Thus, adaptation measures that seem effective for today’s climate may fail to address the long-term effects of climate change. For instance, city planners can relocate cities further inland in response to rising sea levels, but these cities may eventually suffer from low precipitation and water shortage due to a sudden change in cloud formation. In this sense, adaptation proves a short-sighted measure to a phenomenon yet to be fully understood.

Furthermore, preventing climate change would be a more sensible course of action. This is because while adaptation deals with the effects of climate change to some degree, preventative measures tend to target the root causes of climate change. One prime example of a prevention strategy would be switching to renewable energy in order to curb human carbon output – a primary contributor to global warming. This measure serves humankind longer than adaptation measures like large-scale installation of air-conditioning in cities to bring down temperature levels.

In conclusion, I am adamantly opposed to the idea of adapting to climate change not only because it is a half measure but also because its alternative – prevention – is far more practical from a long-term future perspective.