Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different opinions among people about the best types of city to inhabit. Some people think vertical cities are better, whereas others believe horizontal ones are the best option.

Some people think that vertical cities can solve the problem of lack of accommodation, a global concern nowadays. Since the world’s population has surpassed eight billion in recent years, housing and renting have become a global concern. For instance, in many European countries, including the Netherlands, few vacant places are left for construction and buildings, so many people struggle to find a residency. One of the possible solutions for this issue is establishing vertical cities. As vertical towns are full of high-rises and towering buildings, there will be enough space for the burgeoning population to inhabit one of them. Apart from that, soaring rent prices, which also stem from the lack of accommodation, will likely reduce in vertical cities since enough residency will be provided for everyone.

On the other hand, some people have the greatest regard for living in a horizontal city. They believe that the inhabitants of this horizontal city are less prone to mental health issues such as stress and anxiety since it is not as crowded as vertical cities. In addition, people usually live in small one to two-story detached houses, which are more comfortable than a towering building. However, since many people live in a single tower in vertical cities, they might not even feel solitude due to the constant social interaction with their next-door neighbors.

In conclusion, I believe that by living in a vertical city, people will not only live in spacious accommodations but also spend less money renting a place compared to a horizontal city.­