Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there are abundance of intense debates regarding a city planning. While a number of individuals support horizontal cities, others believe that vertical cities are better. Personally, I do believe that urban planning should be created by considering the population of a city. In this essay, the light will be shed upon this issue and a conclusion will be drawn.

To start off, cities which are growing upward tend to use the space more efficiently than horizontal ones. This is due to the fact not only do skyscrapers house hundreds of citizens, but also they preserve environment. Because such city layout may have a variety of shops, commercial and recreational spaces in one high-rise building, it is convenient. Therefore, should people want to buy something , will they reduce the need for transportation.

On the contrary, vertical cities are expensive, require an advanced knowledge in engineering. Needless to say, in aforementioned city design, evacuation system is more challenging during natural disasters, such as fires, earthquakes and floods; nevertheless , these issues might be alleviated in outward growing, in light of the fact that it has simpler constructions and fewer floors. In addition, it is beneficial in congestion, due to less traffic jams will be experienced. Hence, noise pollution will be decreased significantly. Individuals, who live in low-rise buildings have more access to the natural light, which will potentially contribute to a higher level of dwellers’ health and overall well-being.

In the light of the conducted discussion, the following conclusion could be made, although each city design has its own merits and demerits, it should depend on the number of residents. Thus, a vertical layout is suggested for overcrowded urban areas , whereas horizontal planning is for sparsely populated places.