Some people think that it is best to live in a vertical city (people work and live in high buildings), while others think a horizontal city is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued by some that living in a vertical city might bring more benefits for people. In my opinion, however, it is advantageous to live in a horizontal city.

On the one hand, the option to live in high-rise buildings is attractive for several reasons. The first reason is that there would be various facilities such as supermarkets, and banks in high buildings. Therefore, people might find it very convenient because they do not need to spend too much time travelling long distances for their daily essentials. Another reason is that multi-storey buildings provide a wide range of magnificent views of the city. If people have the chance to look at these views every day, this will help them unwind and recharge their batteries.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I believe that choosing to live in a horizontal city is much more beneficial. Firstly, a single-storey or two-storey house often has a backyard or playground, where people can do physical activities. Furthermore, outdoor space gives them the opportunity to play with their children and talk with loved ones. This would help strengthen the relationships between family members. Secondly, people living in a horizontal city are more likely to be safer than those in a vertical one. For instance, when a fire occurs, it will take a couple of hours to evacuate a large number of residents from a high-rise apartment, however, it will take only five or ten minutes to get people out of a low-rise building.

In conclusion, although living in multi-storey buildings presents certain advantages, I personally believe that making a decision to stay in a horizontal town is better.