Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programs. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether broadcasting oversea films and TV shows is better for a nation’s culture or it is foremost to produce domestic products. From my perspective, both of those categories are equally important and in this essay, I will outline the merits of both before presenting my own viewpoint.

On the one hand, it might surprise you to learn that watching foreign movies has positive effects on local culture. First of all, foreign films expose viewers to other cultures or societal issues. Many people may gain important insights into their community and culture from this. For example, the Korean film Parasite presents class conflict through a setting that resonates with many Vietnamese families. After watching the movie, many reported being able to identify class conflicts in their community. Furthermore, directors can learn strategies from critically regarded foreign films. For example, Song Lang is a Vietnamese movie that adopts foreign cinematographic techniques to tell a story about preserving a form of Vietnamese art.

On the other hand, I would argue that domestic film and television channels are essential to preserving each nation’s own cultural identity in the age of globalization. More precisely, audiences may learn valuable knowledge about regional customs from national films and television shows that are not available from other imported motion pictures or shows. Moreover, local movies and television shows can serve as a means of transferring cultural practices to the next generation. Individuals could learn more about the social and cultural norms of their nations by adopting such principles.

In conclusion, I believe that in order to both conserve their native customs and learn about other countries’ cultural practices, governments should maintain a balance between local and international films and television shows.