Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a group while others believe that it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is irrefutable that studies require a lot of concentration and hardwork. The level of concentration and attitude of the students towards reading differs. Grasping power is one such factor that determines how fast a student can absorb information. People can be either fast learners or slow learners.

To begin with, group studies have their own pros and cons. The primary pros is discussion. The more you discuss the better will be your understanding. Also the thought process of every individual is different. Some may understand a topic differently while the other may not and its quite possible that he/she may find it difficult to understand the topic. Group studies help you to solve your doubts, it prepares you to work as a team. Disagreements may arise but that will help you prepare yourself mentally to take criticisms. For example, medical students can study in a group to discuss a particular case and they can come with differentials pertaining to the case. The downside to group studies can be comparisons among students which may lead to self doubt about their own abilities. Sometimes, it is difficult for some students to cope to their friends. In the name of group studies, students can sneak out of the house which is commonly seen among teenagers. In such scenarios adult supervision may be required.

Similarly, studying alone carries its own set of advantages and disadvantages. Studying alone is good for those who take time to understand a topic or subject. It is good for those who find it difficult to cope to their counterparts by studying at their own pace. Some students are able to concentrate better when studying alone than in a group. They can stick to a routine and don’t have to depend upon their friends to finish a topic. For example, students can take time to prepare their notes or research a topic. However, it can get overwhelming when studying alone sometimes. The lack of interaction can result in a monotonous habit of studying and this may cause students to lose interest sometimes. This monotony combined with the pressure of exams and stress can lead to depression in some. Students who are introverts can find it difficult getting their doubts solved.

In my opinion, studying in a group is advantageous over studying alone as it develops confidence, positive attitude, the ability to face criticisms and give constructive feedback. These characteristics are important when working as a team and it helps develop confidence in a social setup. It makes learning pleasurable. You come across individuals with different mindsets and that helps understanding their thought process.

To conclude, both have advantages and disadvantages but it entirely depends on the individual’s personality, their grasping skills and their routine to decide their preferences. But it is important that every individual is able to inculcate positive values and emerge to be confident individuals irrespective of whether they choose to study in group or alone.