Some people think that it is worth researching different minerals in space. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The phenomenon of the fact that looking for minerals in space is worth the effort has sparked a considerable debate in recent years. A number of commentators advocate this perspective, whereas others disagree with this stance. This essay will elucidate both views before determining my own opinion.

Proponents of the former viewpoint maintain that this perspective can be detrimental for governments, especially in terms of technologies and funds. A primary justification for this stance lies in the fact that space engineering and automation today are significantly restricted for mineral extraction, and governments have to spend at least a decade and enormous investment to make breakthroughs. Even though this process can be successful, mining asteroids and transporting these resources to the Earth are significantly costly, since the demand for energy of rockets and spaceships not only depletes the world’s resources, but also create a large amount of space debris. Furthermore, it is widely accepted that the majority of funds should be allocated to combat some pressing issues such as environmental degradation and resource depletion. As a result, governments have the capacity to protect natural ecosystems, prevent the biodiversity loss and ensure the natural resources for the future generations, which are much more beneficial than extracting minerals from space.

Nonetheless, many people, including me acknowledge that exploiting minerals from outer space can have some undeniable advantages, especially regarding the promotion of technological advancements and the supplement for some limited resources. First and foremost, this action can foster technological advancements with respect to robots and aerospace engineering, and even artificial intelligence to ensure the success of space exploitation. This is because extreme conditions of space force engineers to create much more automatic robots, highly durable spaceships and smart AI systems, leading to applying these technologies to daily life, which means people can ameliorate quality of life. Moreover, it is worth noting that if the process of extraction becomes successful, these minerals can assist people in some situations. Specifically, these new minerals can be provided to supplement for some diminishing natural resources in the Earth. Consequently, industries that rely on raw materials, such as technology, electric cars, and renewable energy, will secure stable supplies. This factor also reduces the dependence of numerous nations on some mineral-rich nations

In light of the above, although this phenomenon can bring several drawbacks, I would contend that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages provided that the breakthroughs associated with technological advancements and solving problems related to limited resources are feasible and beneficial, leading to the enhancement of quality of life. It is imperative that the exploitation minerals from space properly and wisely can maximize positive sides and minimize the negative ones thanks to allocating funds effectively.