Some people think that it is worth researching different minerals in space. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The exploration of minerals in space has been a controversial topic. Some individuals think that it is vital, while others do not. Although both views possess a degree of legitimacy, I disagree with the statement.

On the one hand, there are some reasons for advocating that space-based mineral research should be placed greater emphasis on because of its societal merits. First, the accessibility of outer space’s sources of minerals could possibly alleviate global energy demand. With overpopulation leading to the depletion of natural resources, discovering new minerals may provide sustainable alternatives to ease off the situation where some developing countries still rely on fossil fuels heavily. Furthermore, studying the composition of extraterrestrial minerals may allow scientists to gain a comprehensive understanding of the formation and evolution of planets. This knowledge is necessary for identifying potential resources for space exploration and utilization in the future. For example, the discovery of rare elements or water in extraterrestrial minerals may help humans have a sustainable habitat beyond Earth.

On the other hand, the above statement may be a shortsighted view, as studying minerals in the universe brings about financial challenges and humans’ hazards. A trip to space requires a huge financial investment in operating the necessary spacecraft, equipment, and infrastructure. Instead, it is better to focus on other concerns, such as healthcare, education, and environmental protection. Additionally, during the deployment of rocket launchers to bring equipment into space for terrestrial mining, many pieces of debris from spacecraft are left behind in space. Consequently, there could be collisions in space, where an asteroid could hit the debris, scattering it onto the earth’s surface. Therefore, this can be a threat to citizens on the ground.

In conclusion, despite others’ controversial opinions on the focus on exploration of minerals in space, which can help tackle the depletion of natural resources and extend the knowledge of the universe, I support the notion that humans should not place much emphasis on it due to its hazards and cost.