Some people think that it is worth researching different minerals in space. Others, however, disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the current technological era, the potentials of astronomy research, especially in an effort to study outerspace minerals, has caused fierce debates among experts in this field. While a great proportion of the population believe that such large-scale investigation requires unnecessarily high budget and risks with the current technological limitation, the opponents argue otherwise. This essay will elaborate both perspective, before explaining why the possible merits far outweigh the demerits.

On the one hand, it is worth-consideration that space research demands immense financial resources, which is crucial for the conducting of important space studies, the construction of spacecraft and other astronomical instruments, and astronomers’ training program. This large amount of money, according to the opponents’ belief, should be allocated to enhance strategic development of more urgent and immediate issues, such as economic growth, resource depletion and global warming, instead of focusing on such far-fetched and highly risky ambitions, which might take several decades to achieve. Moreover, while these types of research require top-notch technological advancements, the current ability of humanity has yet to meet the overall standards to effortlessly march through the space to gather mineral substances. Raw resources searching demands even more highly specialized equipments to operate, while scientists are still unable to fully grasp the knowledge of space, which leads to tremendous risks and dangers during the research of such harzadous environment.

On the other hand, advocated of space-based mineral research believe that it could yield significant natural resources and scientific rewards. Firstly, the possibility of finding minerals in the outerspace would mean a potential source of newly discovered and immesurable soure of natural materials. By finding and utilizing such immense resources in humanity development, the tremendous burden on Earth’s natural resources can be minimized, thereby leading to further industrial development while causing virtually no damage to our environment. For example, while our planet is gradually running out of essential minerals such as rare earth elements and irons, we can still find an abundance of such materials in space. Secondly, through the unexpected results acquired from extraterrestrial minerals exploration, scientists are able to push the current boundaries of scientific development and technological advancements. As a result, other areas, including economic growth, can greatly benefit such findings, potentially leading to widespread applications. For instance, research conducted in enhancing spacecraft durability is potentially beneficial in the construction of large buildings or transports, all of which are crucial in urban development.

In conclusion, while the financial burden and technological limitation are indisputable, I firmly believe that the potentials of extraterrestrial minerals research in finding abundant resources of raw materials and broading scientific horizon hold immense significance in the forward movement of humanity and should not be overlooked. Therefore, a balanced approach between solving global crisis and space exploration should be established in order to faciliatate both civilization improvement and scientific progress for the overall development of mankind.