Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think that people can be happy without much money? What other factors contribute towards happiness?

It is believed by some people that money is one of the main factors that contribute towards happiness. In my opinion, money is a necessity for living a comfortable life, but for happiness. Other factors like having supportive people around and living a life with purpose contribute way more content in life.

Although money can buy different types of luxuries like diamonds, gold, fancy cars or even a high social status among the community, these are all temporary riches. As one environmental catastrophe like an earthquake can wipe out entire districts or even cities. If everyone’s happiness depended entirely on their properties and wealth, then they might not be able to recover from any minor devastation that occurs to them in life. Which is why having a loving family and supportive friends who celebrate someone through ups and downs is the real permanent wealth and the main factor for happiness. For example, if someone lost their car in an armed robbery, they would not be as devastated because people around can help through this tough time until he or she is able to buy a new one.

Another important factor for happiness is having a passion and a goal to achieve something in life. A purpose in life can be practising everyday to become a famous musician, or trying to improve cooking skills to host a cooking show one day or just enjoying crafting something from time to time. These are all activities that can bring the utmost happiness when done with passion and love, even if the goals set are not achieved as the learning journey for anything new is more important. Not only that, but working in a job that gives purpose in life can be more fulfilling than owning varieties of riches and wealth. A doctor who works everyday to help his or her community, and help cure diseases and pain from people would most certainly be content about their work, even if it pays too little.

In conclusion, money can assure living a comfortable life but not a happy one, other factors like having people around who are supportive, and doing something that brings joy with passion are more important factors for happiness.