Some people think that more money should be spent on protecting endangered species while others think it is a waste of valuable money. What is your opinion?

You may often heard that pandas as an endangered species require a lot of money to maintain and protect, but you may also have heard that they don’t exactly do very much other than looking cute in zoos. The discussion whether valuable money should be spent protecting endangered species have continued to persist into the modern age, especially since the money can be used instead to solve urgent world problems. I believe that more money should be spent protecting endangered species in order to maintain diversity and to restore natural order.

One one hand, when a species goes extinct, the diversity in the ecosystem will consequently be reduced. This reduction in diversity will result in numerous effects, which are especially detrimental to research and the country’s identity. For example, the panda plays a role in China’s diversity of animals, which can be used for tourism purposes, and leeches play an important role in medical research, increasing the need to protect these species from the brink of extinction.

On the other hand, protecting endangered species will continue to maintain their role in nature, whether they are the apex predator or the source of energy in the food chain. There has been numerous examples in history on how the balance of nature has been disturbed due to the extinction of species from overhunting, which in turn causes harm back to the humans in the process. Because of this, countries should still finance the protection of endangered species to maintain their ecosystems.

In conclusion, countries should continue to economically support the protection of endangered species to maintain the diversity and natural order in nature. While the money could be spend on more pressing matters, maintaining one’s identity and keeping the balance in check could be seen as an equally important action.