Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to new buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The old historic building is evidence of the local residents’ heritage and cultural legacy to a nation. However, the government has to spend a large amount of money on the preservation of those ancient buildings. In my opinion, we need to ensure the safety of those old infrastructures and also some ancient structures with historical background should be kept.

On the one hand, buildings that have been occupied and lived by people for centuries have some kind of issues in the growing basic needs such as permanence and sanitation. Because of the lack of permanent support for the buildings, the collapse of the structures could occur at any time and cause the residents to die. Not only for the basic needs, but proper accommodations should also be constructed since the rapid rise of population in urban areas. Besides, instead of maintaining or repairing the buildings built in the past decade, they cannot provide better facilities of living standards.

On the other hand, the old infrastructure which reflects an ancient architectural heritage should be restored for the next generation. It is important to protect the old buildings because they are culturally valuable and some are the national landmarks of the country. In Myanmar, Bagan is an ancient city abounding with many historic architecture buildings. It is one of the UNESCOO world heritage sites. If old buildings are preserved properly, it could make an impact on the economic development of the country.

In conclusion, the restructuring of the old buildings are necessary to create safety and high living standards as modern needs. On the other hand, protecting the old structures of cultural legacy plays a vital role in reflecting the history and to acknowledge the future generations.