Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are a few people who believe that teaching children to be good citizens should be taught in schools, while others think it should be taught by parents at home. This essay agrees that it should be taught by parents.

Parents are often seen as role models to their children, so when a child is taught something by their parent ,someone who they trust and believe deeply, they are more likely to actually listen and apply what was taught. They are also most likely to learn something when taught at a very young age. Obviously their parents have always been with them, and teaching them how to be a good member of society starting from an extremely young age is more likely to stick with them. For example, kids who were taught at a young age by their parents to not litter are 70% less likely to litter as a grown adult.

Schools are considered as a learning space for children so it comes to no surprise that some people think that they should be a place that teaches children how to be a functioning member of society. While it is true that when you are being taught that in school you would be taught with a group of classmates making it more likely for you to participate in what is taught maybe due to the fact that kids follow what others do around them. However, this could also be played against them as some kids might not have the best habits and can pass it to other children around them. A study shows that children are more likely to pass on habits to their fellow classmates.

In conclusion, while some people believe that teaching children how to be functioning members of society at school is better, others believe it should be taught by parents. I personally agree with the later because kids are more likely to follow what the parents have taught them at a young age as they are role models to the children.