Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, there has been a noticeable trend where parents are believed to take responsibility for educating their children while others think such a manoeuvre should be done at school. From my perspective, both opinions are integral in raising a kid to become a good citizen.

On the one hand, I believe that parents are responsible for forming their children’s mindset and habits. To elaborate, research has been conducted that over 80% of a kid’s habits are mimicking the person who looks after them, and in most circumstances, are their parents. Therefore, moms and dads should pay attention to their acts to become good role models for their kids, especially youngsters as they are easily influenced. Besides, the tone of voice and the topics in the family’s conversation should also be taken into consideration. Most couples think that although kids at an early age can hear, they can not process the meaning. Such a notion is erroneous, children can receive their parents’ messages from other factors such as the gestures or the pitch of the sound, which could subtly affect their characteristics as well.

On the other hand, the academies also play an imperative role in educating children to become good members of society. In most nations, children spend almost 8 hours or more on a daily at school. This number could even be exaggerated considering boarding academies. Hence, excluding 8-hour sleep, it is fair to state that kids live at school for half of their day. Therefore, teachers and the study environment are just as important as parents and home education. Schools should not only prioritize passing down academic knowledge but also morality and ethical values, which help lead their students on the right path to being good citizens.

Overall, both parents and schools share the duty of teaching and raising the future members of society. This goal can not be achieved from a single side’s endeavour but the cooperation between both.