Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss, what is your opinion?

Nowadays, it is believed that paying taxes is the main part of contribution to society, while others argue that there are more duties that residents should feel responsible for. I firmly believe that even though both perspectives have right concerns about this assumption, members of society have more responsibility more than just paying taxes.

Of particular note is that every government imposes annual, or monthly taxes for ground, water, and other particular things, society has also confirmed these as their duties. Society believes that they are paying for everything that they consume to the government, and the government is the one who is responsible for taking actions to develop the country, or invest on crucial sectors.

Nonetheless, there are more tasks that residents should provide, such as keeping the environment clean, recycling the wastes, and feeling responsible for reducing pollution, because these main problems cannot be tackled only by the government, whereas the main factors are people in these issues. Pollution in the streets, for instance, if people will keep throwing trash in the streets instead of special bins, this will keep becoming main issue, even though the government is investing money in keeping streets clean. Moreover, residents should stop using disposable items like plastic bottles, or separate waste by categories for the sake of recycling.

In conclusion, some people accept taxes as an obligation, and feel that they are doing enough for society by just paying them, but there are more jobs that members of society should feel more responsible for, such as pollution.