Some people think that people commit crime because of poverty and social problems, while others think it is because of their bad nature. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Society has different opinions about the reasons for committing crimes. While some people feel that people commit crimes due to poverty and social problems, I agree with the view that bad nature is the main reason for crimes.

People in poverty often have social problems such as lack of their own living property. These problems are often associated with lack of education. Education gives people basic concepts of bad or good things. Those who have not basic education in childhood or grew up among wrong people may not comprehend the unacceptability of crime and its consequences. Such financially disadvantaged people due to lack comprehension of high moral values and lack of opportunity to receive a good job with decent salary are forced to commit crimes. Committing crimes seems for them to be a quick and sole way to satisfy their demands.

However, I side with those who consider that the urge to commit crimes is inherently in human nature. The main reason to think that is that not exactly all people from disadvantaged backgrounds are able to commit crimes. There are vast examples of “rich crimes” , when people with really good financial well being committed crimes anyway. Some moral values such as selfishness, abuse of power and greed foster in these people the desire to embezzlement and harm people. Such people may also think that they will not be punished for their actions and, as a result, continue to commit crimes.

In conclusion, there is a belief that social problems such as lack of own property or decent jobs force people to commit crimes. Nevertheless, I support the view that crimes are mainly associated with inherent bad moral values which do not depend on people’s financial and social status.