Some people think that physical education should be a compulsory subject at school, while others believe that students should be able to choose whether to take it or not. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate rages on whether physical education should be accorded the same status as academic subjects in schools and colleges. Some say it is a vital part of the students overall development and should be made compulsory, while others say the pupils should have the choice whether or not they want to participate. This essay will discuss both views and I will give my opinion at the end.

On the one side, supporters of compulsory athletic programs argue that they play a vital role in the maintenance of the physical and mental health of young men. Regular exercise helps prevent health problems such as obesity and bad posture at a time when many young people spend many hours on computers and smartphones. Furthermore, sports and physical activities help in acquiring important life skills like teamwork, discipline, leadership, and perseverance. These qualities can help individuals to succeed in their academic pursuits and prepare them to face future challenges in their personal and professional lives.On the other hand, some individuals believe that gym classes should be optional since learners have different interests, abilities, and career goals. For example, people who want to specialise in science, technology or the arts may prefer to spend more time developing their mental skills than taking part in sport. Some attendees may also have medical conditions or physical limitations that make some activities difficult or uncomfortable. Therefore, letting pupils decide if they want to do physical training would give more flexibility and relieve unnecessary pressure.

The benefits of regular exercise go far beyond bodily fitness and contribute substantially to emotional and social development of adolescents. Institutions can help the student body lead healthier and more balanced lives by making such programs mandatory and ensuring inclusivity.

To sum up, it is true that physical education can be an optional subject to adapt to individual needs and circumstances, but I believe that it is as important as other main subjects and should be a compulsory part of education because of its many benefits.