Some people think that planning for the future is a waste of time. They believe it is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people assert that planning for the future is futile work, and that concentrating on the present will bring more positive aspects. This essay aims to explain why I disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, focusing on the present often helps individuals find a sense of satisfaction in their lives. This stems from the belief that the future is usually ambiguous and full of surprises, so worrying about it will not bring any specific advantages. Therefore, many people choose to enjoy what is happening at present, which then potentially leads to happiness and contentment.

However, such reasoning overlooks the fact that focusing solely on the present may distract individuals from developing themselves to pave the way for a better future. It means some people may get stuck in the present and not have a clear vision of what their dreams are. This will often result in their unwillingness to improve themselves, leading to the lack of efforts made to strive for the future.

On the other hand, proposing plans for the future may bring about many advantages. Provided that a student is making plans for the future, they will be able to have foresight of their career trajectories. This is because when students make plans, they will be able to consider their personal interests, their strengths and shortcomings collectively, which can help them decide their future jobs effectively. With a carefully proposed career plan, one may foster a sense of clarity and direction about their future. Moreover, planning for the future has the potential to prevent possible harm and displeasure from happening to a person. For example, when individuals make plans, they will carefully plan ahead possible risks, such as health problems or bankruptcy. This allows them to allocate their resources wisely, for instance by purchasing insurance or setting aside savings to cope with these hardships.

In conclusion, despite acknowledging that both viewpoints are valid, I truly believe that making careful plans for the future is a way to choose one’s career paths optimally and to prevent any potential risks from happening. Therefore, these are the primary reasons to explain why it is better to plan for the future.