Some people think that planning for the future is a waste of time. They believe it is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Every single person living on this earth is born with different features and characteristics. Our unique life experiences and the people we met along the way will shape and influence how we bring ourselves to the world. Some of us loves planning, while the rest of us hates it. For me, I believe that preparing for the future, whether for short-term or long-term would impose a huge positive impact on someone’s life. This essay will further unpack the benefits that come with planning in advance.

Someone who plans is usually synonymised with a person who is organised, forward-looking, optimistic and ambitious. This is because they are setting measurable targets and goals to achieve in their lives. It gives them a sense of purpose, as they have something to work towards, instead of living through every day mindlessly or automatically like a robot. As a kid, our school teachers have taught us to think about our ambitions in life, and it is one of the driving forces that propels us forward to keep working hard and build discipline in order to fulfil our precious dreams.

In addition, planning will set us ahead as compared to those who refuse to spend the time for it. It reduces errors to the minimum, as you have done thorough research in preparing for the future. The plan should be flexible, where it will act as a base that you could amend and enhance as you learn new information along your life journey. For instance, you might have thought that you wanted to become a doctor after turning into an adult, but along the way, you found another cause that inspires you to become something else. The preparations you made will not be useless as it gives you the edge and skillsets that could set you apart from others.

In conclusion, preparing yourself in bracing for the future is never a waste of time. It helps you to stay focus and level-headed in the long-term and minimise any drawbacks that could potentially affect your progress.