Some people think that planning for the future is a waste of time. They believe it is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that focusing on the present is of greater importance than planning for the future, as it is unnecessary to waste time and energy on the events that are not relevant at the moment. While focusing on the present has its advantages, such as enhanced feeling of happiness and a boost of serotonin levels from unexpected and unplanned events, I strongly believe that it is crucial to plan ahead for achieving long-term goals and ensuring stability and mental wellness.

Effective planning is key to reaching long-term success. Setting the goals and deadlines helps to allocate time and resources in a productive way. For example, students draw up a schedule to revise for their exams by splitting the amount of information into small portions, which allows them to set short-term tasks and reach the final goal. Recent survey conducted in the USA showed that students who implemented time management techniques in their preparation passed exam tests with higher grades than those who disregarded such strategies and studied erratically.

Furthermore, effective time management and planning can have a good impact on one’s mental wellbeing. Having a fixed and well-thought schedule can not only make one feel in charge of their own life, but also alleviate stress and decrease anxiety. For instance, people who use daily routine schedules with casually inserted long-term goals, experience less mental strain and pressure. If one has a plan, their brain has a leverage of knowing what to expect in the future week or month, thus being prepared for it and feeling more relaxed. Studies show that employers who had clearly defined goals in their daily, monthly, and yearly schedules performed better than those who received tasks without well-set future objectives.

In conclusion, it is essential for mental balance and success to have a solid future plan. It reduces stress and constant pressure, which results in improved psychological health and overall wellbeing. By doing this, one can increase their productivity, ensure stability and imrove their quality of life.