Writing Task 2: Spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals are satisfied with living a life without any change, while others believe that change always results in good outcomes. This essay will examine both sides of the debate before explaining why I believe people should take on opportunities to change their life only if they are in bad situations. Otherwise, I believe it is best to avoid the risks that come with change.

Avoiding change can be beneficial as it allows us to be comfortable. One does not have to be worried about the unseen consequences and can live a predicitable life. After an early retirement, many people do not partake in opportunities presented to them out of fear of losing what they have earned. They avoid starting their dream company or restaurant. While many people view this as cowardly, I believe it is very logical. Individuals should not risk their comfort unless they have thoroughly thought about the consequences. For example, if an individual who is living a comfortable life decides to start a company, they might lose their money or be priced out by other rival companies. It is imperative to understand that not all change will result in success.

However, change is an integral part of life. Change is sometimes something that is forced upon you, while at other times it is a choice. When one is stuck in a bad situation, change is often the only way out. Change holds the possibilty of a better outcome with proper planning, especially in situations where you have nothing to lose. For example, quitting a horrible and low-paying job is a major risk but this is a change that allows people to explore other jobs. This action could also potentially result in a better job.

In conclusion, change can be beneficial in certain situations and detrimental in others. It is important to ponder about the possible consequence and benefits before taking on change.