Writing Task 2: Spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words. Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are some individuals who opt for a frugal life, like doing the same routine and do not easily accept change. On the other hand, others have a positive perspective on change. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion about it.

Change is not readily accepted by people who are used to living a simple life. They might think that they have to start from the beginning if they allow change to be part of their life, since there are routines that are difficult to let go of, such as communicating with familiar people and the work schedule. Moreover, adjusting to a new lifestyle could take a long time depending on their situation. For instance, people who have worked for a company for a long time would find it challenging to adjust to a new working environment once they find a new job. This could lead to depression if they could not adapt quickly.

In contrast, a positive outlook is given to change by some people. Those people view change as an opportunity for them to grow and learn from. They believe that they would not be able to unlock their full potential without change. For example, acquiring a high degree of education leads to sacrificing freetime, which some individuals eagerly do just to achieve the necessary skills for them to use in finding jobs. Furthermore, change has greatly helped people who are struggling with their fears, such as feeling anxious when socializing with others. It could help if they go to a place foreign to them and try to make acquaintances.

In my view, I believe that change is necessary for our development physically and mentally. As a person who always eats unhealthy food like fast food and too many sweets, it is about time to change that lifestyle since I would not like to suffer from some illnesses in the future. In addition, engaging in some new activities that could boost my memory, such as learning how to play chess and solving complex math problems would definitely be beneficial for my mental health even though it would take me time to adjust and learn how to do those activities.

In conclusion, although some people might oppose change in their lives, for the reason that it is hard for them to give up on the things they are used to, others like me have the idea that change is vital for us, not only it helps with our overall development. Change has helped us become a better person.