Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

Presently, the variety of languages are not related anymore. Some people believe that it is not crucial and life will be easier if there are a few languages in the world. It is my belief that learning a new language will give us the advantages since there are pleasure and art that you will get through the process of learning, and it allows us to have friends from different countries as well. However, studying a new language can be a challenge for some people and it will take more time to be fluent in it.

Firstly, while discovering a new language, we will learn the history and the structure of the language itself. Besides the language, we will learn how the form was build and why is it matter. To illustrate this point, before 2000, letter of ‘U’ did not exist in Indonesia, people formerly used ‘OE’ to write a ‘U’, while the pronunciation are still ‘U’. Then, right after over 2000, the government officially changed the letters ‘OE’ to ‘U’ for writing. The reason behind the transformation was to shifted the Dutch influenced spelling and to have moderized system.

Furthermore, learning a new language provides us the access of having new friends around the world. We can communicate in their languages without having a difficulty to understand each other, and we do not need a google translate that will take forever to translate anymore. This can be seen in when we go to holiday to Singapore. We do not need a guide as a translator and a destinator, we can simply talk with the local residence there. We can ask them by using English -the language they use- which place they would recommend us to go, and the conversations can go on and on until we make friends with them.

Although learning a new language can be fun, some people might have a struggle to study it. The factors can be various, it can be the language itself is hard to understand, has many rules, and we are not familiar with it. For instance, when we learn Spanish, items has gender on it. We will not understand which item are male or female, we will know when we used to the words.

Besides the advantages and disadvantages of learning a new language, I believe every country have to have their own language as a identity and a culture of their nation. So we can show the world what makes us different to another and how we represent our country.